The Ration Plan 

We all need a hobby. Cooking? No sir, cooking is life. My personal interest has been World War Two, more specifically Homefront in the UK, for quite a long time now. I have more than one book on the subject.

 
I have been feeling overwhelmed by food lately. There has been an abundance of it, what with visiting family and several meals out. My waist line and my purse strings have suffered because of this. My plan of action has been to introduce a certain amount of restriction when it comes to my food. What better way to do this than with a ration plan. 

 
Please note, this is not an authentic re-enactment of the 1940s. This is an experiment in money saving that is inspired by the information gathered in my many textbooks. These are my rations for the week. Instead of lard, I have 4tbsp of sunflower oil. I have a store cupboard filled to the brim so I won’t have to trial a points system just yet. We’ll see. The next week is a given, any more than that will be decided if certain goals are met. I would love to hear your thoughts on my historical challenge. 

   

8 thoughts on “The Ration Plan 

  1. Hmm what are the cream disc things in the tubs? and I could do with getting back on this – but OH needs to have a low carb high protein diet – aaargh!

    Like

    1. That’s my sweetie ration for the week, white chocolate buttons! 🙂 I’m not sure how this sort of plan would work for low carb, you are reliant on potatoes and store cupboard starches. I hope you find some inspiration in my posts 🙂 thanks for stopping by!

      Like

      1. ooooh! I’ve not had chocolate buttons of any type for ages! I am sure I WILL get some inspiration (and maybe it would work if OH doesn’t follow it but I do and I just have more spuds …. wanders off pondering),

        Like

  2. Just thought I’d comment to say how much I like reading your blog. Your ration plan sounds interesting and I’ll be looking out for your next posts to see what your plan covers. I seem to have a lot in my store cupboard that I need to make a real effort to use up!

    Like

    1. What a lovely thing to say, thank you so much for dropping by and leaving a comment 🙂 My store cupboard is overflowing at the moment so I’m hoping this will prove to be a fun way to use some of it up. Thanks again.

      Like

      1. The use up the store cupboard sounds like a good idea – I could do with OH and myself going through the herbs and spices and using some in some recipes!

        Like

Leave a Reply

