Lifestyle choices

When I’m merrily posting pictures on Instagram, I often hashtag them with the phrase “healthy lifestyle”. But what does that even mean? Everybody has their own interpretation on what constitutes a healthy and fulfilling way to live. Here’s my very own unique version:

1) Β I eat lots of things with very short ingredients list, e.g. apple, carrot, pork. I try to eat less of things with very long ingredient lists, or with ingredients that were born in a laboratory e.g. most gluten free baked goods!

2) I exercise for my insides, not just for my outsides. It’s lovely to be slim and feel confident and look cute in dresses, but to me, it’s more important that my heart is exceedingly good at its job and that I have outstanding lungs.

3) I remove guilt association with food as much as possible. I choose to enjoy that piece of honey flapjack. It’s not a treat, a reward for doing nothing in particular. It’s not a sin, or naughty, or bad, it’s flapjack. And it tastes good.

I have practiced these points for so long that it has become second nature to me, the eating and the exercise particularly. I still struggle with guilt association sometimes, as we all do when faced with hideous corporate slogans that prey on our insecurities, but it’s a game of one decision at a time. And I live like this on around Β£900 a month – that’s including bills, rent, everything. It’s not impossible, it’s a series of well-informed choices that lead to habit.

image

6 thoughts on “Lifestyle choices

    1. I’m by no means perfect, but one can only try πŸ™‚ It’s the gluten free cakes that I find hard to avoid, gluten free baking has improved so much in recent years! Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  1. I definitely need to work on guilt association. I’ve never been a picky eater and love to try new things and just love food in general, so I’ve been working on moderation and feeling less guilty and just enjoying the moment!

    Like

    1. I’m the same, there’s only a handful of things I won’t eat. But I just need to keep my love of food in check and make sure it doesn’t develop into gluttony πŸ˜„ Thank you so much for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

