Don’t let your dreams be dreams

The deed is done and the stage is set. Earlier this week, I handed my manager a final note, stating my intent to resign from my job. He recieved my notice with reluctant agreement, and consequently, I am free to live out my dreams.

In January, we will fly away on an epic adventure, spanning many countries for many months. It’s so terribly exciting. And also terrifying in itself. To give up one’s job, one’s home, to abandon your family and country of birth for a minimum of five months is a daunting task. But the rewards are great for this type of once in a lifetime experience.

We start in New Zealand and have hired a flowery camper van. That sentence gives me so much joy, I can barely contain it. I hope to document my entire journey through this blog and on my Instagram page. My hope is that I can reveal what it is like to eat gluten free and healthy around the world, from the urban cities to the dense jungle. I also hope to experience new tastes and new ingredients and set up new Nooks to cook in everywhere and anywhere. I will be cooking and eating in the most bizarre places I’m sure, and I can’t wait to share it all with you.

Before we depart, I shall be posting about how we are planning for the trip, budgetting advice, food research and maybe a few camper van recipes that I uncover. Feedback is the greatest gift, so if you have any questions about our trip or dietary queries, please do not hesitate to ask. This is the start of my ambitions, to make things happen and to accomplish anything I put my mind to. If you asked me two years ago if I would be going on such an adventure, I probably would have answered with a feeble “hopefully”. But it is going to happen, because we made it so. I can say, loud and proud, that the countdown has begun.

6 thoughts on “Don’t let your dreams be dreams

  1. Hi Rebecca, Sorry have been MIA for a few weeks as we are continuing to live out our dream (ie 7 weeks in France)! I am thrilled for you and your new plans, (of course, why would I not be) and as someone who has done similar I can assure you that you will never regret the decision, especially at the present time as you have not become ‘bogged down’ with the normal conventions of career, family and mortgage. I shall follow your adventure with enthusiasm, and a slight twinge of jealousy as we have only managed touring in Europe and a fortnight in Norway so far!

    Like

    1. Hi Alison, how lovely to hear from you. It sounds like you’ve been having an amazing time touring France. Thank you for your kind words, we are beyond excited! I’m so ready to finish up with work so we can get on to the good planning bits ๐Ÿ˜„ Thank you too for your support, I hope you enjoy the upcoming posts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

