Christmas round up

There are few occasions in a foodie’s calendar year that elicits such excitement as Christmas, more specifically Christmas lunch. What a treat! We were lucky to be spending the festive season with the chap’s family; a raucous, loving and vibrant group of people. The turkey arrived direct from the farm and many of the vegetable dishes were prepared and primed before the big day itself.

What would my title in the kitchen be? Kitchen hand? Sous chef? Helper-outer? Whatever the name of the role, I was happy to do whatever I could to assist the head chef in cooking a delicious and decadent meal for eight people. We started with bruschetta and smoked salmon bites. I had a plate of gluten free delights just for me.

  
It was a late dinner, but well worth waiting for. I’m not sure my memory can recall all of the dishes that made the table groan, but the turkey was tender, juicy and utterly sublime. I ate far too many parsnips and the leeks with a crunchy GF topping sticks in my mind too. It was a feast worthy of the occasion.

 

After plenty of wine, laughter and a few rounds of Articulate, we finally felt ready to conquer pudding. I was spoilt for choice, with the hostess supplying a gluten free sticky toffee pudding, gluten free Christmas pudding or gluten free mince pies, complete with cream or ice cream or both! After much deliberation, I finally decided on Christmas pudding with a large helping of thick double cream. Such a rich dish is completely valid on such a special day. 
  
My strongest belief for the self is balance. I thoroughly enjoyed the entirety of Christmas Day and will not succumb to any feelings of guilt that can lurk in the shadows during such moments in life. Today, we shall make turkey salad and a brown rice pasta dish, but I’m almost certain there will be room for a mince pie. I hope you are all enjoying a wonderful festive season with your nearest and dearest.

2 thoughts on “Christmas round up

Leave a Reply

