Pushing through: the hike up Ella Rock

I’ve really enjoyed the hikes and walks we’ve been on whilst travelling. It’s a great way to exercise, as well as being a rewarding activity because the view from the top is guaranteed to be spectacular. But hiking is not always easy. I thought all the stairs at Lion’s Rock were tough, but nothing prepared me for Ella Rock. 

This is the beast I fought today.

When you’re climbing up steep, uneven paths, it takes some real motivation to get up there. Here are five things I tell myself during a hike.

1) Stop being a whiney bitch. If twelve year olds can do it, so can you.

2) You get to eat when you get to the top (I’m all about those hiking snacks!).

3) This is all in the mind. One step then the next step is all it will take.

4) You can watch YouTube all afternoon when you get back to the guesthouse.

5) You are strong. You are capable. You can do this.

I had to have a couple of rest stops and water breaks and a sit down to eat a banana for extra fuel. But I kept moving upwards, clambering over rocks and using tree trunks to pull myself forward. There was a point where I looked up to see how far we had to go and my heart sank.

“I can’t do this.” I moaned to the chap.

“Yes you can,” he replied, without missing a beat. “You can and you will” 

A well deserved sit down!

This is the part where I felt like Queen of the world.

That’s one of my favourite internet motivational lines. I can and I will. And do you know what? I did. It took two and a half hours to get to the top, and I can’t say I enjoyed every second, but it was so worth it. I think this mental strength will help me so much in my new challenges that await when I finally return to the UK. We’re approaching single digit days left in Sri Lanka and as much as I love this country, and travelling as a whole, I’m so looking forward to getting home and starting a new chapter. 

On our walk home, we spotted a family of monkeys, an excellent end to the hike.

Instagram: @cookinginthenook

Twitter: @Bekca

Leave a Reply

