Part One: Gluten free eating around the world

It’s been a whole week since I arrived home from my epic adventure around the world. I’ve been browsing through the photos and reliving some of the delicious dishes we sampled. I thought it might be useful to share my experiences of eating gluten free in the countries we went to, a sort of rough guide if you like.

I must first mention that I didn’t use any coaliac awareness cards, or have a translating device. I used a mixture of common sense, a few questions and opting for last resorts in some circumstances. Below each overall description of the country, I have given an average day of typical meals. 

New Zealand

We hired a camper van for our month long stay in New Zealand, so I was cooking the majority of our meals. Supermarkets were easy to find in the populated areas and even in corner shops, you could find enough ingredients to pull together a vegetarian chilli. Countdown, a large supermarket chain, had a good supply of gluten free products, such as pasta and cereal bars.

Breakfast: Fresh fruit, mixed nuts and/or gluten free cereal bars.

Lunch: Salad bowls on the road, or gluten free bread and local honey.

Dinner: Homemade chilli con carne and rice.

We did most of our own cooking in New Zealand, with lots of one pot dishes.

Australia

Australia is considered an expensive country, and it is, but we still managed to eat out relatively cheaply, using two major chains – Grilld and Guzman y Gomez. Both had gluten free options clearly labelled on their menus, and both of which were budget-friendly. Grilld serves unbelievably good burgers, with excellent courgette fries. Guzman y Gomez is a Mexican joint with great burrito bowls with beef or, a newly discovered favourite, barramundi. 

Breakfast: Gluten free cereal (found in the shops) with almond milk and strawberries.

Lunch: Shop bought sushi.

Dinner: Cheeseburger from Grilld, or Barramundi Burrito Bowl from Guzman y Gomez.

We found sushi bargains in Woolworths in the early evening to have for a cheap dinner some nights.


Bali

This was the first place that I stopped looking for GF symbols and just went with my gut. We had some beautiful curries and fish dishes, with flavours like lemongrass, ginger and garlic all coming together on the plate, or on a banana leaf! The fresh fruit was exceptional, as were the fruit juices. Rice was a frequent side dish, and I think from this point onwards, I had rice at least once a day.

Breakfast: Fresh fruit salad and yogurt, with watermelon juice.

Lunch: Steamed tuna with rice.

Dinner: Balinese satay chicken and rice.

The breakfast area in our hotel in Ubud, Bali.

That’s all I have for now, stay tuned for my next post featuring Java, Borneo and more. Do let me know if these posts are helpful to you, and feel free to ask any questions about eating in the three countries featured today.

One thought on “Part One: Gluten free eating around the world

Leave a Reply

